High school wrestling: Juab dominates, claims 4th straight state title .

Education Articles



OREM — Juab’s fourth straight team title was already in the bag before its fab five took the mat in Saturday’s 3A championship, but those five matches confirmed why the Wasps are kings of 3A wrestling once again.

Conner Ingram (132), Channing Warner (138), Chase Ingram (145), Cade Bowring (152) and Will Harmon (160) all won their championship matches in succession, putting the punctuation mark on another dominant state meet.

“You can hear the crowd right now,” said three-time state champ Bowring after his match while Harmon was still wrestling. “Having them and having the wrestlers before me go out and show what (coach Joel) Holman and all the coaches have taught us, it’s amazing.”

Juab ran away with the state title racking up 286.5 points, followed by Delta in second with 216.5 points and Morgan in third with 184.

“Winning it as a team is so much better than individual — it’s that much fun,” said Bowring.

Juab didn’t just do its damage in the middle weights either, with Blake Mangelson (220) and Shan Jackson (285) capping the meet with state titles of their own.

Jackson’s title was his second straight, while Warner also won his second straight title at 138 pounds.

Conner Ingram denied South Sevier’s Triston Fillmore a repeat title at 132 pounds with his 9-5 victory.

The best match of the night in 3A came early on in the 120-pound final between Morgan’s Waylen Pentz and Grantsville’s Joseph Mecham. Both were defending state champs from different classifications — Mecham won at Tooele last year. Pentz ended up prevailing 3-2 in sudden death overtime.

He was one of three individual champs for third-place Morgan along with William Korth (113) and Jarett Jorgensen (126).

For Jorgensen, he ended his career as a three-time state champ, winning previously in his freshman and sophomore seasons. He said the key to his 19-11 win over ALA defending champion Lukus Carrillo was not wrestling scared.

“I was less nervous than last year. Last year I wrestled pretty nervous and it ended up costing me cause I didn’t go out and do my stuff. It was a two year work to get three,” said Jorgensen.

Last year’s loss came in overtime, but this year he made sure it never got that close.

The other repeat champion on Saturday came at 195 pounds as Delta’s Jake Jackson beat ALA’s Justyn Mitchell with a pin at 3:45.

Other individual champs in 3A were Richfield’s Dayson Torgerson (106), Emery’s Hayes Dalton (170) and North Sanpete’s Jaden Kaibetony (182).

Class 3A state championships

At UCCU Center

Team scores

1. Juab, 286.5; 2. Delta, 216.5; 3. Morgan, 184; 4. Emery, 169; 5. South Sevier, 130; 6. ALA, 111; 7. Richfield, 103; 8. South Summit, 95

Individual results

106 — Championship: Dayson Torgerson, Richfield def. Kaden Ercanbrack, Juab, 3-0. 3. Shayden Taylor, Delta; 4. Merritt Meccariello, Emery; 5. Sid Christiansen, Emery; 6. Kris Ware, Morgan

113 — Championship: William Korth, Morgan def. Blake Woolsey, Morgan, 5-3. 3. Keaton Sperry, Juab; 4. Garrin Lord, Richfield; 5. Skyler Rasmussen, ALA; 6. Kayden World, Emery

120 — Championship: Waylen Pentz, Morgan def. Joseph Mecham, Grantsville, 3-2. 3. Denim Torgerson, Richfield; 4. Byron Christiansen, Emery; 5. Dwain Farley, Emery; 6. Jory Jenkins, Union

126 — Championship: Jarett Jorgensen, Morgan def. Lukus Carrillo, ALA, 19-11. 3. Maverick Caldwell, Delta; 4. Taigon Bushell, South Summit; 5. Dallon Farrer, Union; 6. Jarin Allen, Emery

132 — Championship: Conner Ingram, Juab def. Triston Fillmore, South Sevier, 9-5. 3. Joshua Jackson, Delta; 4. Kayden Fowles, Manti; 5. Thomas Coates, Grantsville; 6. Jarron Campbell, Morgan

138 — Championship: Channing Warner, Juab def. Will Haight, Summit Academy, 19-6. 3. Trey Butler, Delta; 4. Adrian Lemus, North Sanpete; 5. Kaleb Rimmasch, Manti; 6. Brennan Campbell, Morgan

145 — Championship: Chase Ingram, Juab def. Jett High, South Sevier, fall 5:03. 3. Kurtis Nielson, Delta; 4. Kevin Urzua, Union; 5. Hyrum Morley, ALA; 6. James Oveson, Emery

152 — Championship: Cade Bowring, Juab def. Bryar Meccariello, Emery, 10-4. 3. Austin Chase, Delta; 4. Cale Miner, ALA; 5. Jordan Snyder, Richfield; 6. Grant Rounds, Grantsville

160 — Championship: Will Harmon, Juab def. Bryce Clegg, South Summit, fall 4:37. 3. Jaxin Torgerson, South Sevier; 4. Brandon Dutson, Delta; 5. Kadon Christensen, ALA; 6. Aidan Mortensen, Emery

170 — Championship: Hayes Dalton, Emery def. Tanner Belinski, Morgan, 6-4. 3. Ridic Migliori, Carbon; 4. Tate Willoughby, Delta; 5. Cadence Ross, Union; 6. Maddex Christman, Emery

182 — Championship: Jaden Kaibetony, North Sanpete def. Taylor Hunt, South Sevier, fall 5:25. 3. Rylan Watts, Juab; 4. Chance Toone, Morgan; 5. Szion Gibson, Emery; 6. Kayden Clark, Manti

195 — Championship: Jake Jackson, Delta def. Justyn Mitchell, ALA, fall 3:45. 3. Laramie Roberts, North Sanpete; 4. Talon Holdaway, Juab; 5. Ryker Adams, Morgan; 6. Jacob Hermansen, South Summit

220 — Championship: Blake Mangelson, Juab def. Spencer Colburn, Manti, fall 1:30. 3. Easton Horsley, Carbon; 4. Braden Howard, Emery; 5. Max Whitmore, South Summit; 6. Jake Nickle, Delta

285 — Championship: Shan Jackson, Juab def. Kemmer Jones, South Sevier, 5-1. 3. Antonio Mckissack, Union; 4. Trendon Cropper, Delta; 5. Ryker Keele, Morgan; 6. Nephi Antillon, South Summit